Avis Borough Council held their reorganization meeting on Monday, January 3, 2022.

Mayor Harter swore in the elected council members: B. Stover, J. Raab, A. Brooks, M. Herman, D. Aungst and E. Christian.

Mayor Harter led the pledge of allegiance.

Mayor asked for roll call of Council members, Stover, Raab, Brooks, Herman, Aungst and Christian were present.

Mayor asked for nominations for the office of President of Council.

So moved by J. Raab to nominate Brian Stover as Council President, seconded by A. Brooks. Mayor asked for any more nominations. There being none, Mayor declared Brian Stover, President.

Mayor then asked for nominations for the office of Vice-President of Council.

So moved by E. Christian to nominate Jeff Raab as Vice-President of Council, seconded by M. Herman. Mayor asked for any other nominations, there being none, Mayor declared Jeff Raab as Vice-President of Council.

Mayor turned meeting over to President Stover.

Stover entertained motions for various appointments:

Motion by J. Raab, 2nd D. Aungst for Appointment of Borough Solicitor: Coploff, Ryan, & Houser.

Motion by J. Raab, 2nd D. Aungst for Appointment of Borough Engineer: Uhler & Associates.

Motion by D. Aungst, 2nd by M. Herman for Appointment of Zoning Officer and Code Enforcement Officer: Kristian Barger.

Motion by J. Raab, 2nd by D. Aungst for Appointment of Borough Zoning & Code Enforcement Officer Assistant: Ernest Harter, III

Motion by J. Raab, 2nd by M. Herman for Appointment of Emergency Management Officer: Elmer Christian.

Motion by D. Aungst, 2nd by J. Raab for Appointment of Sewer Enforcement Officer: Dean Fishel.

Motion by J. Raab, 2nd by D. Aungst for Appointment of Construction Code Official: Codes, Inc.

Motion by M. Herman, 2nd by J. Raab for Appointment of Sewer Collector: Cheri Aungst.

Motion by M. Herman, 2nd by J. Raab for Appointment of Sewer Collector Assistant: Denise Davidson.

Motion by J. Raab, 2nd by M. Herman for Appointment of Tax Collector Cheri Aungst.

Motion by D. Aungst, 2nd by J. Raab for Appointment of Chairman of Library Board: Linda Roller.

Motion by M. Herman, 2nd by D. Aungst for Appointment of Planning: Ernest Harter, III.

Motion by D. Aungst, 2nd by J. Raab for Appointment of Zoning Hearing: Karen Stover, Darlene Kehoe and Craig Seasholtz.

Motion by J. Raab, 2nd by D. Aungst for Appointment of Accountant: Rizzo & Klein.

Motion by A. Brooks, 2nd by M. Herman for Appointment of Vacancy Board: Denise Davidson.

Motion by J. Raab, 2nd by D. Aungst for Appointment of Zoning Hearing Solicitor: Frank S. Miceli, Esquire.

All Council voted in favor for all of the above appointments.

Motion by D. Aungst to accept the minutes of the December 6, 2021 meeting, seconded by J. Raab and so carried with all Council voting in favor.

Motion by D. Aungst to pay the bills as so presented, seconded by J. Raab and so carried with all Council voting in favor.

General \$12,574.71 Sewer: \$2,394.58

Karey Snook was at the meeting on behalf of the pre-release center of Lycoming County. She asked Council if they would be interested in hiring some of the inmates to help out with work in the Borough. She said it is \$103.00/day for 3-6 prisoners. Someone from the Center would be with them as that worked. A. Brooks is going to look into this.

Alan Uhler, Borough Engineer was present. He told Council that Brandon in his office is in the process of updating the maps. He will present the storm sewer design on Short Street at the February meeting. He has not heard anything regarding the grant that he applied for on behalf of the Borough. He also informed Council that his rate will increase in March. The increase will be approximately 5%. J. Raab made a motion to appoint Scott Stover as the secretary/treasurer of the Borough. D. Aungst seconded with all Council voting in favor.

Councilman, D. Aungst, wanted to go on the record saying that both President, B. Stover and Councilwoman A. Brooks have done a good job on Council.

A Brooks stated that the Comcast franchise agreement does not expire until 2024. She also indicated that she is looking into a new pension plan for E. Hughes and B. Snook.

She also discussed enlisting Seda-Cog to assist with the distribution of the ARPA funds that the Borough received. A. Brooks made a motion to enlist Seda-Cog with a second by D. Aungst and so carried with all Council voting in favor.

M. Herman said that he is working with CompuGen regarding the cameras. For some reason, the information from the cameras is not getting to the communication center or to the police.

There was discussion regarding COVID and getting a policy in place on how to handle it if employees come down with it.

J. Raab read a letter from B. Stover offering his resignation as Councilman. D. Aungst made a motion to accept his resignation with a second by M. Herman with all Council voting in favor.

Council then needed to reappoint a new president. Mayor Harter asked for nominations for President. D. Aungst nominated J. Raab with a second by M. Herman and so carried with all Council voting in favor. Mayor Harter declared J. Raab as Council President.

Mayor Harter asked for nominations for Vice-President. A. Brooks nominated D. Aungst with a second by M. Herman and so carried with all Council voting in favor. Mayor Harter declared D. Aungst as Council Vice-President.

A Brooks made a motion to adopt the Ordinance for the Amendment to section 411 with a second by D. Aungst and so carried with all Council voting in favor.

D. Aungst made a motion to have a notice advertised for the adoption of an Ordinance setting the salaries of Council. A. Brooks seconded with all Council voting in favor.

Motion for adjournment by E. Christian with a second by M. Herman.